User avatar
mistamontiel00
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:54 pm
Location: Miami, FL, CUBA
Contact: Website

v2.01 upgrade hang ={

Thu May 14, 2015 7:13 pm

I hit Start on Load button .. I mean .. it says here Starting upgrade process for five minutes now

User avatar
mistamontiel00
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:54 pm
Location: Miami, FL, CUBA
Contact: Website

Re: v2.01 upgrade hang ={

Thu May 14, 2015 11:08 pm

Three hours later it's still there .. where to next sire

I am hoping by a miracle it's just looking for a last loaded rom and did not brick self .. I am tempted to hit Reset but I am going to stay put more than a while

User avatar
mistamontiel00
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:54 pm
Location: Miami, FL, CUBA
Contact: Website

Re: v2.01 upgrade hang ={

Fri May 15, 2015 8:31 pm

My 64drive has been goin for 24+ hours now :oops:

User avatar
MasterOfPuppets
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 9:40 am

Re: v2.01 upgrade hang ={

Sat May 16, 2015 10:34 am

Did it erase the firmware yet? What is the current, exact message on the screen?

User avatar
mistamontiel00
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:54 pm
Location: Miami, FL, CUBA
Contact: Website

Re: v2.01 upgrade hang ={

Sat May 16, 2015 10:58 am

Totally kill thread lol .. do NOT hit Start here will throw ya off

I finally hit Reset last night and went back to it and hit A and success

Altho for some reason under About it still says v2.0

User avatar
marshallh
Site Admin
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:39 am

Re: v2.01 upgrade hang ={

Mon May 18, 2015 10:36 am

Did you use the latest menu version? I think 1.12b may have had partial code that would cause a hang, it was completed later.

Do you have expansion pak?

The hardware itself verifies the firmware before it upgrades itself. So bricking should be impossible except if you lose power during the upgrade.

The entire process takes less than 20 seconds.

User avatar
mistamontiel00
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:54 pm
Location: Miami, FL, CUBA
Contact: Website

Re: v2.01 upgrade hang ={

Tue May 19, 2015 3:21 pm

Yes and yes

Had latest menu and have pak

EDIT: It's working %100%

User avatar
mistamontiel00
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:54 pm
Location: Miami, FL, CUBA
Contact: Website

Re: v2.01 upgrade hang ={

Sun Dec 06, 2015 8:47 pm

I gave v2.02 a go .. should it say power off/on rather than RESET ..?

I used button , @ About screen somehow still said v2.01 , power off/on , blacked , I nearly took a shat o.0

Pulled er out/in , working v2.02 cheers Marshall !!!

User avatar
mistamontiel00
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:54 pm
Location: Miami, FL, CUBA
Contact: Website

Re: v2.01 upgrade hang ={

Mon Jan 01, 2018 3:35 pm

Again a bit odd , it says it erases firmware but hit Reset button still see the previous firmware v2.04 in About

Power off/on gets the current firmware version to correctly display

EDIT: For future reference , do I just want to do that ? Power off/on

radorn
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 8:06 pm

Re: v2.01 upgrade hang ={

Fri May 11, 2018 8:39 am

@mistamontiel00
There are 3 software "things" on the 64drive.
There's the FPGA configuration, which makes the thing work, there's an included bootloader, which is booted by the N64 so that it can take control and poke the SD card, and then the menu inside the card which gives you the ROM list and the rest of the user functionality.

When you turn the power on, the FPGA is "empty", so the first thing it does is try to load a configuration binary to work with from a flash chip on the 64drive PCB. When you turn the power off, that configuration is lost and must be loaded again next time power is turned on. Resetting the N64 doesn't power-cycle the cartridge, so the FPGA still has the same config file (or firmware) as before the reset. Updating firmware only erases the flash chip and writes the new firmware binary. It doesn't and probably can't force a re-load. You need to cut and restore power to the FPGA for that.

Return to “Issues”