ToñoGK

Controller Pak

Thu Jan 26, 2017 6:10 pm

Hi Marshall and guys!

Just wondering if it is possible to emulate the function of the Controller Pak (CP) from the 64drive on a future update.

Some CPs I have don't work anymore (guess I have to change the battery) and I'm using a GC controller adapter, but everytime I have to save the game asks me to insert the CP... making it impossible to play.. for example Turok, if you die it searches the CP file to continue.

byc

Re: Controller Pak

Sat Jan 28, 2017 10:59 pm

Good question. It'd be great to not have to rely on a real pak, what with the shoddy clones, expensive originals, and having to replace batteries, etc.

Sadly though I don't think it's possible (or easy). I'm no expert, but I do know that games (or even homebrew software/apps) that use the Controller Pak have to directly access the controller's serial interface. The game can tell when a controller is unplugged, when a pak is removed and inserted, etc.

It wouldn't be easy to emulate that.. It'd either require extensive game-specific hacks (to switch to SRAM for example), or some very clever tricks to make something work for all games.

Tim.

Mon Jan 30, 2017 1:27 pm

I am no expert but I have been trying to find a solution to this very same issue for quite some time. I was using cube64 adapters and then later cube64-dx adapters to use my Gamecube wavebirds with my N64. Intercepting the controller I/O to route data back to some other device will require a hardware modification and cannot be done with the 64Drive alone.